I started working on a chemo cap last night (for a very nice lady in a knitting and crochet group I belong to) The way the pattern is written was confusing to me. I’m used to patterns going step by step, starting with how many stitches you are supposed to cast on, but THIS pattern explains how to do the pattern repeat first, then it goes on to explain how many stitches you are supposed to cast on to start the hat. That really messed me up, because it didn’t occur to me to read down to the middle of the pattern to find out how to start the darn thing. I riped out several hour worth of work after I discovered my mistake and I’m starting over. Hopefully I’ll have better luck this time, because the hat really is very pretty and even though what I was doing wasn’t quite write, the stitch pattern was turning out very nice.
