My 10 year old daughter and I are going to learn how to knit. The last time I knitted I was 14, and I only knew how to cast on and do the basic stitch. I have since found out that the way I was casting on was incorrect. So I’m basically starting from the beginning when it comes to knitting.

What gave me the idea of learning to knit with my daughter is that my daughter in the past she has become very frustrated with crochet. I couldn’t understand why it was so difficult for her, I learned how to crochet when I was 4 years old, but for some reason crochet is quite a challenge for her. The other day I got out my afghan hook (a crochet hook that is as long as a knitting needle) and decide to make a hot pad. Well my daughter was very interested, so I asked her if she would like to try. She took right to it with very little difficulty. We took turns crocheting until the project was done. It made me wonder why the afghan stitch was so much easier for her than the regular crochet stitch. So I thought maybe she might take to knitting as well.

So today I asked my husband to bring home some knitting needles, and did a search for a web sight to teach me how to knit. I found a really good one, (I posted it to my list of links on the left) and I have managed to learn how to cast on and do the basic knit stitch. I’ve been working at it for several hours, and feel confident in my ability to do it. So tomorrow when my daughter comes home from school, I’m going to teach her what I learned today. (She is very excited.)

